The other 13.1

Tell me you watched last night?  I mean, you had to have watched. It was awesome.  I clapped a bunch of times.  I even yelled at my computer.  It’s safe to say I was even giddy.

What am I talking about?  THE OPEN ANNOUNCEMENT! Duh.

openwod

13.1

I know I will never, ever compete in the games.  I can guarantee I won’t even make regionals.  But I can still participate in the Open and that is amazing.  People like Julie Foucher and Camille Leblanc-Bazinet are freakin’ killer and to think I will be doing the same WOD as them is pretty awesome in my opinion.

I registered for the open just because a friend did.  I didn’t think anything of it.  I figured I would play along, complete the workouts and was just very indifferent about it.  I wasn’t nervous or excited, I would just be doing some more WODs.  Well, something clicked last night and when the first WOD was announced I got all amped up. I got butterflies and felt a bit nervous about it!

Regardless of my reason for competing, I am still going to compete.  I won’t win money, I won’t be famous and I pretty much know I won’t have a better score than 90% of the people out there. But, I will be competing with myself.

I will be pushing myself. I will be testing my own limits.  Burpees suck.  Snatches are terrible and scare the shit out of me.  The idea of whipping a 75 pound bar above my head and then dropping underneath it as fast as possible….HELLO!!!! I could drop that and KILL MYSELF.  No, not really…. but that’s an irrational fear I have.

This open workout will help me compete against myself. It will help me test my own personal limits…push myself just a tad bit harder because I know it’s a formal competition.

Last year I ran and trained and trained and trained….all to eventually compete.  Since then, since December 2 I have been dedicating a lot of time and energy to CrossFit. I have been training and pushing myself and practicing techniques.

What do I have to lose by competing in the open?  Nothing. Absolutely nothing.  Same goes for you. If you are on the fence about registering…just do it. What do you have to lose? Absolutely nothing.

How does it work?

There are 3 parts to the CrossFit competition. The open, regionals and the games.

The open is the awesome part where anyone, anywhere can compete.  All that is required is that you either complete the WOD at an affiliate that is registered to be a training facility or you can submit a video of yourself completing the workout.

If you make it through the open and are one of the top scoring athletes, regionals is the next step.  From there, if you do a stellar job and crush everyone, you go to the games.

I am planning on having fun with the open while still pushing myself and seeing where I stand.  It’s all about having fun!

And speaking of FUN… I did an at home workout yesterday that you might like!  If you try it out let me know what you think!

homewod

Last, but not least my new favorite spring addition to the house.

welcome

All those colors…that rug is so me 😉

Are you registered for the open? If not…WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?!

gm

Leave a comment