Weightloss- doggy style

How do you put a dog on a diet that can’t walk in the cold but also eats every.single.thing she sees?

lolafat

Seriously?  Lola is overweight and I need help and suggestions on how to help a sister out!

Besides a fat dog, I have been sipping some java with my main man J

hisandhers

Mastering wall balls and wall climbs….

WOD2

*** I started with kettle bell swings

And rockin some new gear that I am obsessing over.

routine

My running is still there.  Nothing worth writing about but it’s there.

And remember when I was having a hard time with my dead lift?

weights

Well, let’s just say I have made that 245 pounds my bitch and I dead lifted 255 pounds like a beast.  I mean, not really, it was hard as balls but I still did it!

A 255 pound pull has been my biggest accomplishment in the gym for me lately! What about you? What’s your biggest gym/run accomplishment lately?

gm

ps— I am really proud of this post.  I know there is still a lot that I didn’t talk about but when I am able to, I will fill you in 😉

2 thoughts on “Weightloss- doggy style

  1. When Bella was packing on a few to many doggy pounds our vet recommended cuting her food with canned greenbeans. So half the amount if kibble with some green beans. It helped bella trim down.

  2. Just the same as you need to have discipline in order to maintain a healthy lifestyle, so to does your dog. The difference is that you provide your own self discipline because you are in charge of yourself, whereas your dog looks to you as her pack leader to provide her with the guidance and discipline she needs. Also, just as it should be impossible to overeat on a strict Paleo diet, your dog needs to be kept on a strict diet of foods that are appropriate to her needs.

    My suggestion therefore would be to make sure to take your dog on her walks, and to apply the appropriate discipline necessary to ensure she participates in those walks. If she needs little booties on her feet in icy weather, or a little coat or backpack to keep her warm, so be it. The important thing is to not let your dog dictate her will over your own. If she won’t walk with you, just start walking.She won’t let herself be dragged for too long, and a few sharp tugs of the lead and a no-nonsense approach will soon get the message across without resorting to either cruelty or pleading.

    As for the diet, you have a few options. Either look for a premium dry food and stick to the feeding recommendations strictly, or provide her with good quality raw foods (Meat and Bones) suitable to her size. Raw foods can be expensive, but will be nutritionally complete, and will make it less likely that your dog will remain overweight. Limit dry foods that contain beet pulp, sorghum, corn and other excess cereals which are nutritionally dangerous to dogs, and avoid canned foods that are high in sodium, or which contain starches and vegetable oils. Feed her once or twice per day, and don’t leave food out if she isn’t going to eat it all immediately.

    I really hope that helps you to help your dog. It’s funny that I can fix dogs so easily, yet people are not so easily fixed unless the really want to be! 🙂

Leave a Reply

