Let’s Do This

Welcome to 2013!! 🙂

Hopefully the start of the new year is treating you well… me on the other hand, I have been fighting the flu for what’s going on 5 days strong now.  I am NOT a happy camper.  That means: no running 13 miles to ring in the new year, no throwing around some weights in the gym, no caring too much about what I eat because, let’s be honest… I don’t have much of an appetite so I am trying to just make sure I eat.

I went back and forth about whether or not I wanted to write this post but eventually, obviously, decided to go for it.  Saying my goals out loud or even in blog form scare me.  This makes it more real, this makes me feel like I am more accountable. But….I am going to take those all as good things and even more of a reason for me to tell you what my hopes are for 2013, that way I follow through with them.

1

This seems simple but I am really bad at it.   When I was training for my past couple marathons I was religious about letting my coach know each workout and how I felt and all the minor details.  I think if I want improvements in my workouts I need to keep track of what I am doing, not just with running either.

+ I will keep track of my CrossFit WODs as well as weights and times
+ I will keep track of mileage and routes run

2

I am embarrassed to tell you how much food I waste.  Whether it’s not eating leftovers or letting food go bad in the fridge…it’s sick how much I throw every garbage day.

+ I will be more mindful when I cook and only cook what I need
+ I will be more mindful when grocery shopping and only buy what I know will be eaten

3

This is a biggie for me.  I used to be sunshine sally. I was so happy and optimistic and full of joy.  I don’t know if it’s my job, feeling stuck in a routine or what, but I have lost that pep in my step and I need to find it.

+I will always find the good in the day
+ I will look at the glass as half full (hey, at least I have a job, right ;)… see, I’m starting already)

At the gym I work at the boss came to me and told me he would like to start going over everyone’s goals each team meeting we have.  He wants the goals to be something big…not like the ones I listed above.  They should be things that scare me.  But to be honest, I have no big goal for 2013.  I mean, 2012 was the year of the marathon.  Saying I wanted to qualify for Boston scared the crap out of me.  I felt ridiculous even admitting that was a goal because I didn’t think it was attainable. But now that I did it, it has me thinking that maybe I am capable of more than I realize….

59109813829941886_lfSScTFP_c

While I am still thinking about what my scary goal for 2013 is, here are a few I am throwing around:

  • Complete a 50K
  • Compete in regional CrossFit competitions (this one really scares me)
  • Taking the plunge and start my dream job

While I still have time to think about what I want to do big in 2013 I am curious, what are your big goals and plans for this year?!  Thinking of running a new distance? Trying a new sport?  Tell me!

240590805065262388_AMiWnl4M_c

gm

Leave a Reply

