What to wear

So far so good! I am no worse ( or better) than I was yesterday so that’s a good thing I guess!  I am still downing extra water and vitamin C like a champ!

I am still obsessing about the weather too.  I am hoping for the best, but I need to be prepared to get wet.  This is making my race day outfit decision a tough one.   I had planned on wearing shorts, throw away long sleeve and a tank underneath.  Well….now this whole “48 and 50% chance of rain” threw me for a loop.

I went to this site on Runner’s World and you can conveniently enter in the predicted weather and they will tell you what to wear.

I am not sure about the vest.  Usually my body is the one thing that gets extra warm and my arms freeze.   I have also been reading a bunch of forums about running in the rain.  One thing that I found REALLY helpful was pinning my bib to my pants.  BRILLIANT.  I was concerned about bib placement because if I ended up throwing away my top layer, then I would need my bib underneath.  But then what if I didn’t throw away my top layer….. then you couldn’t see my bib and that means no photos.  Uhhh. clearly I need proof that I finished marathon #3.

As of right now I am planning on everything in the above photo, minus the vest.  I am sure that will change 10342 times, just like the forecast will.

Last night I ran a shorter-than-normal tempo run.  I was told, for the main set, to run 4 sets of 3 minutes holding a 7:15-7:30 pace.  I am given the option to run this on the treadmill to ensure I can keep the pace.  I have been concerned about pacing myself lately.  I do NOT want to go out to fast and die.  So I hit the streets for this one.


“Laps” 3, 5, 7 and 9 were the main set.  7:19, 7:14, 7:18. 7:16.  Boomshakalaka.  I liked that one.  I definitely sweat my balls off with the freak 76 degree and 100% humidity weather.  but I liked it!

I plan on still obsessively checking the weather and the forums on what to wear, but I wouldn’t mind your opinion too!

Please tell me….. what would you wear or in your past experiences what do you wish you wore?

gm

One thought on “What to wear

Leave a Reply

