Ironman, cheering and Race facts

Happy Monday!  (do you like my fall colors?!)

This weekend was the first weekend where the only time I sweat was when I was working out.  The hot temps seem to be gone until we get that freak 80 degree day and Autumn is here!

After a day of food and booze on Saturday, yesterday was the opposite!  I woke up and headed to the Poconos nice and early to meet a friend for my last “Long” training run.

1 Hour stamina run.  I felt good! It was the kind of run that I needed to have the week before the race.  I am starting to FINALLY feel like…oh shit, I think I can actually maybe possibly qualify!  I think the awesome company helped!

After a feel-good run I headed over to the Pocono 70.3 Ironman to help cheer on athletes and hand out some coke and gu!

It was a 1/2 Ironman which consists of a 1 mile swim, 56 mile bike ride then 1/2 marathon (13.1 miles).  Seriously.  All at once.  What a freaking inspiration those athletes are!   I was happy to hang with the club my Coach runs and help out where I could.  The people at water stop 1 were also a ton of fun!

I also got to spend time with my newest favorite cheerleader.

It was the perfect morning.  I got to spend time with my favorite people and watch an endurance competition.  Like I said, PERFECT!

Since my Race is ALMOST HERE I am stalking any and every running resource to find any tips on how to better run the course.  I came across a Runners World article about 10 noteworthy marathons in the US.  Guess which marathon was on there!?  DING DING DING.  You are correct.  Steamtown!

From Runners World Magazine:

Do you want a small, quiet event?
Steamtown Marathon
SCRANTON PENNSYLVANIA October 9, 2011 (October 7, 2012)

Point-to-point, hilly, rural, shuttle buses, music

Let’s face it: Your first marathon can be stressful, and the mania of big-city races can sometimes contribute. Steamtown is the antithesis of the large, loud race. Here, relaxed yet efficient hospitality reigns. You’ll enjoy one of the best staging areas of any point-to-point race. Two rows of cheerleaders greet you when you exit the bus at Forest City Regional High School. A student hands you a bottle of water and directs you inside the warm auditorium where you’ll wait to start. The boom of a Civil War cannon sends runners onto a scenic route that winds through Small Town USA: Families line porches, wave American flags, and bands and cheerleaders try to outdo each other. Last year, the race sold out for the first time in 15 years, so log on April 1 to be one of the 2,500 who will run this year.steamtownmarathon.com

HEADS UP-> The course’s 955 feet of net elevation loss occurs in the first eight miles. Hold back to have enough steam for the rolling hills of the final miles.
VETERAN TIP-> Just after mile 24, look left for inspiration. Kids from St. Joseph’s Center, a home for mentally and physically challenged children, cheer runners on.

Getting close!!!  Less than a week away.  GAH!!!

gm

Leave a Reply

