Run and a Bride-to-be

Long run Saturday.  Last Long-long run of this training cycle.  Holy crap.  Relief and panic all in one.  SO freaking happy that this training cycle is coming to an end.  I need a break.  I am totally tired and ready to be done running a strict schedule.  Panicking because I only have 3 more weeks and I feel like I possibly can’t be ready yet (hello taper crazies…already).

The start of my run was colder than expected.

I started around 6:45 and really loved running as the sun was coming up.  It was a little cooler than anticipated but it felt SO much like fall that I didn’t even care.

I had a hard workout yesterday.  And today I was freaking out a little.  I mean, 8 hill sprints and less than 24 hours later I had to do my long run? Oh, and this time I was running the whole thing alone.  Last weekend I had a friend join at mile 10 and I was really worried that I would bitch out since I was alone.

I had a goal in my head…. to complete my run with a pace of 8:30 or less.  I ran the top part of the race course.  My coach planned for me to run 2:40 to 2:50.  I figured I would try for 22 miles even if I ran a little longer.

What actually happened?  I didn’t hate it.  Around mile 6 I threw on some tunes.  Miss Nicki Minaj got me through most of the run.  And I ran the entire time.  I ran at a pace that wasn’t easy by any means but I also didn’t feel like I was sprinting either.

I finished 20.0 miles in 2:48.  Average pace 8:25.  I was pretty happy with that!  A little disappointed I didn’t run a tad faster but I accomplished my goal time.  I figure that if I can run that pace on already tired legs, then I am pumped to see what I can do with rested legs!

Once I finished my run I wanted all the food.  So.  I got all the food.

Seriously.  One egg scrambled.  bacon. One chocolate chip pancake.  Delicious.

The rest of my afternoon was spent at a bridal shower for a friend of mine that I have know forever. She is having a New Years Eve wedding and I am sure it is going to be absolutely fabulous.  I can’t wait.

I went for a nice and easy 20 minute walk/run just a little while ago.  Hopefully that helped my sore muscles and tomorrow I will feel good as new 🙂 Now an exciting Friday night with my computer and sweats!

Have you ever surprised yourself with a run where you ended up doing better than expected?

gm

Leave a Reply

