Mind Games

Today I was itching to run.  Bad.  I didn’t.  I was good.  I was told to rest my legs another day and do cross training so that’s what I did but let me tell you…it was one of those days I needed a run.

Running helps me not only clear my mind and is a form of relaxation for me, but it makes me feel good about myself.  I needed all of those things today……

Anyway, where were we?

Oh… Cross training.  No falling off the bike today but I did sweat my ass off.  I rode on my trainer for 45 minutes and really made sure to push myself.

After spinning I did a bunch of core work which also included a ton of planks

A while ago I said I was reading the book Mind Gym.  Well I came across a chapter that talked about mental toughness and the 7 C’s.  This hit home for me and I think is important for anyone in a tough situation…

Competitive- ” Competitors take bad breaks and use them to drive themselves just that much harder. Quitters take bad breaks and use them as reasons to give up.”  So true.  The drive to beat competition, even if that competition is yourself is so important.

Confident-“Confident athletes have a can-do attitude, a belief they can handle whatever comes their way.”  This is the toughest one for me personally.  Being confident is so so so important.  Knowing and believing in yourself…that’s key

Control-“Successful athletes are able to control their emotions and behavior.”  Aka don’t let something out of your control mess up your brain, be able to have control over yourself.

Committed- “Mentally tough athletes focus their time and energy on their goals and dreams.”  In my case, I am training for a race so I will do anything I can to better my chances of getting the finishing time I am shooting for.  That means following a schedule that includes long runs, fast runs and even rest days.  I need to be committed to that even on days I don’t feel like it.

Composure- “Mentally tough athletes know how to stay focused and deal with adversity.”  Ok, so I wake up race day and rather the crisp 62 degree weather I pictures, it’s raining and somewhat warm.  I am not going to freak out over this.  I am going to, instead, figure out how to reach my goal despite shitty weather.

Courage- “A mentally tough athlete must me willing to take a risk.”  Uhh…hello my favorite shirt.  You aren’t going to get anywhere by playing it safe.  Take a chance. You might surprise yourself.

Consistency-“Mentally tough athletes possess an inner strength.”  Ideally I want to run fast all the time.  yes, I will have bad days but my goal is to be able to run sub 8 minute miles for 20 miles today, and still hold that pace or better in 3 weeks.

So far, this book is good.  I know my downfall of marathon training is my confidence.  I have been told by my coach on several occasions that this is something that really needs work.  Any advice on how I can rewire my brain to not be my worst enemy sometimes?

And last but not least……. GOOD LUCK TO THE GMEN TONIGHT!!!!!

gm

2 thoughts on “Mind Games

  1. I love the 7 C’s! But I definitely hate mind games. Confidence is the worst one of all. I battled that one last year and I found that the best way to gain my confidence was to stop being so hard on myself. Let everything go and just have fun. My confidence is always at it’s highest when I’m happy and carefree.

    Good luck getting up your confidence! You can do it, you just have to believe in yourself 🙂

  2. Lately every run, I try to visualize myself at the finish line with the time on the clock reading 3:34. I know I’ll be racing Rock n Roll, and the time on the clock won’t be my actual finish time (you know, corrals and all). But I’m hoping it builds mental confidence!

Leave a Reply

