Certification Weekend

Despite my horrendous run this past weekend, the rest of my weekend went really good!  After Jbone was gone for a work trip all week I only got to see him for a few short hours on Friday before heading out for my weekend CrossFit Certification.

Even though I only spent a short time with him in person, we made sure to iChat a lot last week and over the weekend.

It was his birthday weekend (love my old man :P) and he was still so supportive of me going and focusing on my certification.  Thanks jbone, I knew you were a keeper ❤

All day Saturday and Sunday was spent learning and working my butt off.

I had such an amazing time.  It was exhausting mentally and physically.

I learned so much about the sport of fitness, about olympic lifts that I thought I already had a good understanding of, I learned proper programming and nutrition.  I learned how to better myself not only as an athlete, but as a coach as well.   I had to workout, and hard.  I had to use an 8oz pvc pipe on multiple occasions and let me tell you, even with that little weight, engaging your muscles properly will still give you a killer workout leaving you nice and sore!

I spent Saturday evening studying.  You definitely can not be dumb to take this test.

Yes, CrossFit is basic training that should be common sense…doing natural, safe movements in an efficient and effective manner.  Seems simple enough right?  Well then why sit on the peck deck at the gym and do 10-15 reps?  Why not get down into a push up, better yet burpee!

I learned so much but also met some awesome people.  There were people of all skill levels.  From being in the CrossFit community for 3 months up to 5 years.  And no one was treated any differently.  The workouts were scaled appropriately and no one batted an eye.  That’s another awesome thing about CrossFit, no matter skill level, age, strength…all the workouts are scalable so literally everyone can do them!  This weekend showed me  how awesome the CrossFit community truly is.

I won’t get my results for a few days.  It was a closed book, closed note scantron test.  I know there were a few questions I missed but I am hoping for the best.. a passing score and being able to call myself a legit CrossFit Coach :D!

Even though I need to take a step back to focus on running for a few weeks, I am already pumped to get in the gym and see what I can do now that I know the in’s and out’s of CrossFit.

gm

3 thoughts on “Certification Weekend

Leave a Reply

