Food Matters

I am a vegetarian.  I have been for a little over 2 and a half years.

When I did eat meat I rarely ate red meat, never ate pork and stuck with mostly chicken and turkey.  Then one day I watched the documentary Food Inc.  I saw some incredibly disturbing things and was completely turned off by meat and most animal products.  I even stopped eating eggs for a long time.  I am not opposed to others eating meat, and I will even cook it from time to time, it’s just my own personal choice to not eat it.

Lately I have been feeling… off.   I don’t know exactly what it is… boredom, curiosity, lacking nutrients?  something is going on.

I am tired of feeling like I am not eating an actual meal.   A girl can only eat so much yogurt, cottage cheese, pb&j and boring salads.  When I do feel like I have had a meal it usually consists of fries and a veggie burger.  Not the healthiest choice.

I am curious about what will happen to my body when I eat meat.  Lean protein. Will I feel tired and worn down from having that dense substance in my digestive system?  Or will it make me feel fuller longer therefore I will eat fewer calories and start to get leaner.  Will my training benefit, hurt or nothing change after eating meat.

I am a bad veggie consumer.  I just don’t eat them.  Fruit, I devour.  Veggies, not so much.

I don’t cook.  Maybe when I am in my new house I will make time to cook, but for now I eat things that are easy, ready on the fly and, unfortunately, probably over processed.

I want a turkey sandwich for lunch.   Or a piece of chicken and asparagus for dinner.  See, nothing drastic… Not a rib-eye with a side of veal.  ew. that’s nast.

And I am not saying I want to go all “Bacon for breakfast, turkey for lunch and steak for dinner.”  I think I would want a mostly vegetarian diet and have an occasional meat product.

When I first stopped eating meat I read a lot about food.  One book was Michael Pollan’s  “Food Rules.”  It it, he said something that is really resonating with me.

“Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.” 

That’s what I think I want.  To eat whatever I want, not too much of it, and still keep a mainly vegetarian diet.

Why won’t I just do it then?!

Am I going to get sick?

                                         maybe, maybe not

Am I going to be judged and harassed?

                                    I don’t know about judged but harassed?  100%.  I get                  harassed now for not eating meat.  I would bet money that those same people who bust my balls now will be even worse if I change my eating habits.

I am and have been going back and forth for weeks now.  I am working towards a decision.  Hopefully sooner than later.

Have any of you ever been in this or a similar situation?  Any words of advice?

gm

7 thoughts on “Food Matters

  1. Dear Gm,
    you should not feel guilty because you crave something different.
    Don’t be too strict with your self, you might just need some more proteins with all this running of yours 🙂 I think you would feel much more energetic if you introduce some animal proteins in your diet (do not exaggerate and keep it lean).
    And if you do not feel good about it, you can always change your mind and go back and be a vegetarian. Just give it a try and don’t be torn about it 🙂
    And who cares about what other people says?! This should be the last of your problems. You are a grown up woman and have all the rights to eat just what you want, right??
    Best wishes 🙂

  2. Who cares what others think…do what makes you happy! Ever try salmon? Start with that! I will cook you some on the grill and you will love it. Bring J and a few summer ales over one night and we can eat some healthy meat.

  3. If I recall correctly, I was one of those people that harassed you when you went vegetarian/vegan in the first place. I mean, I still think a strict vegan diet is a stupid thing but I will (try and) support you for whatever choices you make.

  4. I think if anyone judges you, they’re not the kind of person who you’d want their opinion anyway. Do what makes you feel good and healthy.

  5. Pingback: Rando | GM Runs

  6. Pingback: That time I did all the awesome things | GM Runs

Leave a Reply

