Balance

I have been having a tough time lately.  There aren’t enough hours in the day.  I have too much I want to do and not enough time.

A typical day for me starts at 3:40 am and by the time 7:45 rolls around I am struggling to stay awake.  The past few weeks I have gotten more and more into crossfit.  But at the same time, my running has taken a back seat.  I am trying to look at it as me resting before my marathon training starts in July.  I said I would be taking it easy and just running for fun so I guess I am following through….

I was supposed to run a 1/2 marathon this weekend and for the first time in my life I decided to opt out of that and stick with the 5k instead.  This was a super tough decision for me, and I know I am disappointing some people by choosing this… I am even disappointed in myself.

I want to go into marathon training with a good thoughts.  I ran the St. Luke’s half marathon faster than I could have ever imagined.  EVER.  Since then I have been way too busy to get any decent speed work or long runs in.  I am just too busy.  Even this blog (which I really enjoy) has taken a toll and my posts are becoming less and less.  I want to train for the marathon feeling like I could ACTUALLY, juuuust maybe cut a ton of time off my PR.  If I was to race this weekend I know I could finish but I don’t think I would be happy with my time.  I would either mentally already be defeated for PR’ing in the marathon or I would be a complete freak and sign up for another 1/2 to redeem myself.

I love running.  I love working out. I love fitness.  I love all of it. I want to do it all…

I need to find a better balance. I have people in my life I need to make more time for.  I need to find more time for me, to do things I like other than running and crossfitting and working.

Until I find a way to balance it all out, this will be my best friend…

One thought on “Balance

  1. Pingback: Fresh Start « GM Runs

Leave a Reply

